top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJohn Cheyne

Introduction: The Life of a Third Year Music Student.

Updated: Feb 26

Hello and welcome to my blog! This is the first entry so let me catch you up on everything that has been going on in my life as a third year music student at Anglia Ruskin University.


To say life has been hectic would be an understatement. I feel like a performer at the circus juggling countless balls and hoping to keep them from falling and hitting me in the face! The balls being my modules and so far I seem to be doing a good job of juggling them all simultaneously.


While there are only three modules to focus on this year, they are all very hefty and take a great deal of work, focus and dedication to make sure they are completed to a good standard. But as you will soon find out about me, if I am going to do something, I will do it to the best of my ability.


Our major project or as many of you will know it by, the dreaded dissertation! 10,000 words of literature reviews, reading countless articles, journals and research papers about my chosen topic of research. I have chosen to focus on a little known topic - anempathetic music used in films with scenes of violence. If you have never heard of this term before, I would not be surprised. Think, Stuck in the Middle With You by Steelers Wheels used in Tarantino´s Reservoir Dogs or Hip to be Square by Huey Lewis and the News used in American Psycho.

This module is going well so far, just a bit more research to do and then we onto the final stages.


The second module on the list is our Collaborative Project. Here, I am part of a large team made up of my fellow students. We have all been tasked with organising and running a conference which will be held this April 12th! So please come along to that and follow our socials @soundoftomorrow24! This module is going really well with the final parts of the conference all coming together. My role within the committee is Branding Lead. So I have been designing a lot of logos and brand kits, speaking with other members of the teams to make sure we have a strong brand image.


The third and final module is our Portfolio, which is what you are currently experiencing right now! Building a website to showcase our talents and to help set us up for the big wide world after we graduate.


Look out for my blog entries, articles and podcasts coming soon!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A busy week!

Well, it certainly has been a busy week since I last updated this blog! This week I have been hard at work finishing my articles which...

Comentários


bottom of page