top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJohn Cheyne

Pink Floyd - Dark Side Of The Moon. The National Space Centre, Leicester.

I am at a loss for words. To describe this visual splendour is a feat almost as impossible as breathing in space.


The National Space Centre in Leicester has been holding a full-dome, 360º visual experience alongside Pink Floyd's 1973 album The Dark Side of the Moon. The album, being celebrated for its 50th anniversary has been praised by critics, music lovers and fans all across the world. It is regarded as a classic and one of the best albums ever recorded and released.


My father who is a massive fan of Pink Floyd invited me down to come see this experience. I am a fan of the album and Pink Floyd, but I wouldn't say I am hooked or addicted to the music. The way my dad spoke about this experience was so passionate, I felt I needed to experience this.


The Leicester National Space Centre boasts its 360º full-dome screen as being the largest in the country, and my god, what a way to experience this album.

The music is of course amazing, but the visual aspect is truly what captivates the audience. Warnings of motion sickness as it can feel like you are floating through space are displayed at the beginning of the show. They aren't lying. The screen covers every aspect of your vision. Your focus and peripherals are filled with the vast density and nothingness of space. A massive pyramid is brought to focus, backlit by the thumping intro of Speak To Me. Rainbow colours in full technicolour blast front behind its silhouette.


Strap in, and get ready. For the next 41 minutes, you will float above the stars, dance with Saturn and Jupiter, and mingle with an asteroid field. Pendulums and space centres are within touching distance. Everything has a level of detail, it is hard to distinguish it from real life.


I will not give too much away as it is an experience best enjoyed first-hand. The music and the visuals complement each other so well. If you enjoy this album, space or just want to leave the face of planet Earth for a £15 ticket, you MUST see this.


I fear this may only last the year, but in my humble opinion, this should be a main attraction and stay fixed to the schedule of the National Space Centre.


The next show is on August 2nd. Get your tickets here, but be quick, they sell out fast, and it's not a surprise why!









6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A busy week!

Well, it certainly has been a busy week since I last updated this blog! This week I have been hard at work finishing my articles which...

Comments


bottom of page